TRIUMPH

Today, a major WIN. I have actually gotten into my website and made a beginning on updating it. Take a look and let me know what you think. http://www.dougball.com.

Are you struggling to finish a work in progress? Does the ending baffle the living daylights out of you? Yup, me, too.

The only way to finish is butt in chair and work those fingers for the time it takes to add one word, then two, and away we go. Maybe time is the problem. A small device with keyboard or voice-to-text or a backpack full of laptop going with you everywhere could be the answer. Every time you get stuck in traffic, a service line, a doctor’s office waiting room, at the curb waiting for the kids, sitting in a chair while you child does their dance class, and on and on. You get the idea. WRITE, don’t just vegetate.

FOUR WAYS TO FINISH YOU WORK IN PROGRESS.

  1. Follow the above. Butt in seat and write.
  2. Challenge yourself each morning, in writing, to add a certain number of words.
  3. Read a favorite author for ten minutes before you try to write, tell yourself, “I can do as well as he/she does,” and do it.
  4. Bribe yourself. “I will get 500 words down and then I will get a Coke, or Chocolate, or a ten minute walk with the dog, whatever floats your boat as a favorite reward

Whatever you do, go write or write as you go. I would love to get my wife writing. She could write while I drive and it would distract her from the right seat driving she does.

Be Blessed.

Leave a Reply

